Return to Directory

Douglas County Government

Douglas County Government
100 Third Street, Castle Rock, CO 80104
Contact Name
CJ Gates
Web Address
Business Description

The pioneer spirit, accompanied by the beauty of the mountains, foothills and plains, is gloriously evident in Douglas County.  In 1861, the Colorado Territorial Session Laws created Douglas County, named after Stephen A. Douglas.  Douglas County originally stretched from the Rockies to the State of Kansas border.

Today, the County’s strength, as the centerpiece of the Denver/Colorado Springs development corridor, is a perfect blend of quality lifestyle and business environment.  The County is approximately 843 square miles, of which 48,741 acres are permanently protected land through the Douglas County Open Space Program.  Recreational areas include more than 146,000 acres of Pike National Forest, Roxborough State Park, Castlewood Canyon State Park and the Chatfield State Recreation Area.

Five incorporated municipalities are located within the boundaries of Douglas County: Castle Pines, Castle Rock, Larkspur, Lone Tree and Parker.  Each has its own mayor and provides services, many in collaboration  with Douglas County.

Business Genre

Send Message